Game Controllers and how Wii U is good for RSI

I’m 6’1″ tall with large hands, capable of holding a basketball floor down. My hand span is around 25cm, my longest finger around 10cm, I’d class myself as having sightly above average sized hands for a grown man. I moved from playing PC games a few years ago as mouse and keyboard (specifically the WASD key layout) was giving me RSI. I struggle with using some controllers as they try and force my hands into a small area, SNES I’m looking at you. Over the years I’ve used plenty; Atari 2600, Quickshot Pro, ZipStick, SNES, N64, Gamecube, Dreamcast, PS3, PS4, Xbox360, Wii and Wii U.

Personally I’ve always considered the Xbox 360 controller my favourite, recently I moved onto the PS4 which seems toylike and slips around, I had to add grips to the thumbsticks to make it useable. After a few nights of using the Wii U’s massive controller its grown on me a lot to the point that I think I prefer it to the 360 (I know blasphemy!).

It gives your hands an opened out position, almost like you’re holding a book. The thumbsticks are responsive and the Dpad and buttons are in a good position, I know people complain that the buttons should be above the right hand stick but you get used to it pretty quickly.

wii-u-controller
Wii U, great fit for the larger handed gamer

The back of the controller has a really nice contour for resting your fingers on.

wii-u-back-controller
Comfy back ridge

Here’s a few comparisons, first up the Xbox 360 controller, a design classic

x360-controller
Xbox 360, fabulous design, nice fit, classic, only issue is the slippy D-pad

Wii nun chucks, hands in limbo

wii-controller
Wii, I find these fiddly, something doesn’t feel right when your hands aren’t connected

Playstation 4, slippy and light weight it lacks substance and is a bit too feather light.

ps4-controller
PS4, lacks a bit of weight, is generally a bit slippy and the thumbsticks require grips

Quickshot Pro, we went from the comfort of big sticks and thumb buttons to the Nintendo and Sega mini controllers that caused thumb blisters

quickshot-controller
My old 48k Spectrum Quickshot Pro

Sega Dreamcast, I read that this was the predecessor to the Xbox 360 controller, it has a good shape but feels like a kids toy for some reason

dreamcast-controller
Dreamcast, toy like

Gameboy Advance, fiddly and small, makes me feel like a giant

gba-controller
Cram your hands around this one, its fiddly not one for me

Xbox Fightpad, its okay but the Dpad is a bit slippy for me

xbox-sf-controller
Xbox Street Fighter pad, bit like the Sega Saturn controller

Super Nintendo, I know its a fake USB retro one, but the size is the same as the original

snes-controller
SNES, the original creator of thumb blisters, ouch

Gamecube, Nintendo following Sony’s design with its own tweaks

gamecube-controller
Gamecube, nice general layout, except for the weird shaped buttons

Nintendo 64, the thumbstick always felt about to break and a bit overly springy

n64-controller
Nintendo 64, good general size and shape, interesting single trigger choice

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment